Maryland State Police
Frequently Asked Questions
Following is a list of the most frequently asked questions regarding firearms
registration, possession, transfer and weapon types:
May a person that lives in another state sell a regulated firearm to a
resident of this state?
Yes, however, the purchaser must make arrangements to have the
firearm shipped to a Regulated Firearms Dealer in this state.
Can two residents of this state conduct a transfer between
themselves? If so, what is required by law?
Yes, provided both parties conduct the transaction with the
Maryland State police or a Regulated Firearms Dealer, (the Dealer
may charge an additional $20.00 dollars for this transaction),
and the buyer is not prohibited by law from receiving or possessing
a firearm. This transaction classified as a Secondary Sale. Both
parties must be present during the transaction, and there is a
Seven Day Waiting Period before the firearm can be physically
transferred. In addition, there is a $10.00 dollar background check
fee (Check or Money Order, Absolutely No Cash Accepted), the
check must be made out to the Maryland State Police.
How many firearms can I purchase at one time?
A person may not purchase more than one regulated firearm in a
30-day period, except for the following reasons:
(1) The purchase of the regulated firearms is for a private collection
or a collector series (Designated Collector by the Maryland
(2) Dealer Sale (No more that two guns and must wait 60 days
before next purchase);
(3) The purchase of the regulated firearms is a bulk purchase from
an estate sale;
(4) Similar purpose.
Can the transfer of a regulated firearm be conducted between two
Yes, this type of transaction is considered a gift. The law stipulates,
if the regulated firearm is a gift to the purchaser’s, spouse, parent,
grandparent, grandchild, sibling, or child, the recipient shall:
(1) Complete an application to purchase or transfer a regulated
(2) Forward the application to the Secretary of the State Police
within 5 days after receipt of the regulated firearm.
Is there a fee when a transaction is considered a gift?
No, the fees are waived.
Is a black powder gun considered a firearm?
No, per federal law statutes, this type of firearm is considered an
antique and does not qualify under the regulated firearm guidelines.
I am moving here from out of state and own a firearm, am I required
to register the firearm? (Note: If the firearm is an assault pistol it
cannot be transported into Maryland)
If the firearm has been obtained legally, you are not required to
register the firearm; however, you can voluntarily register the
firearm with the Maryland State Police.
Can I acquire a regulated firearm through inheritance?
Yes, provided the heir completes an application for the purchase or
transfer of a regulated firearm and forwards it to the Secretary of
the Maryland State Police.
Is there any training that one must have prior to purchasing,
receiving or renting a regulated firearm.
Yes, as a result of the responsible Gun Safety Act of 2000, anyone
who purchases a regulated firearm after January 1, 2002 is
required to complete a certified firearms training course, however,
the below are the exceptions of the training requirements:
- Is a law enforcement officer of the state or any local law
enforcement agency in the state.
- Is a member, retired member, or honorably discharged member
of the armed forces of the United States or the National Guard.
- Is a member of an organization that is required by federal law
governing its specific business or activity to maintain handguns
and applicable ammunition; or
- Holds a permit to carry a handgun in this state
Am I required to register my shotguns and rifles?
No, provided they are not classified as assault weapons.
Can I own a semi-automatic assault pistol?
No, after June 1, 1994, a person may not;
(1) Transport an assault pistol into the State; or
(2) Possess, sell, offer to sell, transfer, purchase, or receive an
assault pistol in the State, EXCEPT;
A person who lawfully possessed an assault pistol before June 1,
1994 may continue to possess the assault pistol if the person
registered the assault pistol with the Secretary of the State Police
before August 1, 1994.
An assault pistol is
defined as any of the following specified firearms or their copies
regardless of which company produced and manufactured the
Are starter pistols classified as a regulated firearm?
- AA Arms AP-9 semi-automatics
- Bushmaster semi-automatic pistol;
- Claridge HI-TEC, semi-automatic pistol;
- D Max Industries semi-automatic pistol;
- Encom MK-IV, MP-9, MP-45 semi-automatic pistols;
- Heckler and Koch semi-automatic pistol SP-89;
- Holmes MP-83 semi-automatic pistol;
- Ingram MAC 10/11 semi-automatic pistol and any variation including the Partisan Avenger and the SWD Cobray;
- Intratec TEC-9/DC-9 in any centerfire variation;
- P.A.W.S. type semi-automatic pistol;
- Skorpion semi-automatic pistol;
- Spectre double action semi-automatic pistol (Sile, F.I.E., Mitchell);
- UZI semi-automatic pistol;
- Weaver Arms semi-automatic Nighthawk pistol; and
- Wilkinson semi-automatic "Linda" pistol.
Yes, if it will or is designed to or may readily be converted to expel
a projectile by the action of an explosive.
Can I legally transport my regulated firearm to the range?
Yes, provided the handgun is unloaded and carried in an enclosed case or an enclosed holster, and you are transporting the handgun to or from the places listed in section 4-203 of the Criminal Law Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland.
I am a former service member and was discharged from the military
under dishonorable conditions; can I still possess a firearm?
No, separation from the U.S Armed Forces resulting from a
dishonorable discharge or dismissal adjudicated by a general court-
martial will prohibit the mere possession of such.
What is a “Straw Purchase”?
A Straw Purchase is any sale of a regulated firearm where an
individual uses another person (the straw purchaser) to complete
the application to purchase a regulated firearm, take initial
possession of that firearm, and subsequently transfer that firearm to
Can I immediately take physical possession of a firearm at a gun
No, the National Instant Criminal Background Check System must
be conducted by the dealer, importer, or manufacturer prior to the
transfer. This is in compliance with the “Brady Law.”
Is there a law that governs the storing of firearms in a home?
Yes, it is unlawful for any person to store or leave a loaded firearm
in any location where the individual knew or should have known
that an unsupervised person under the age of sixteen would gain
access to the firearm (for safety purposes the stored firearm should
be unloaded, and the use of a trigger lock is recommended.
Further questions can be directed to:
Maryland State Police, Regulated
Firearms Registration Section
1111 Reisterstown Road
Pikesville, Maryland 21208.
The business hours of operation are Monday – Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00
You may call 1-410-653-4500 or 1-800-525-5555.